About us

Funding and delivery

Kuwait is a Net Contributing Country (NCC).

For UNDP, net contributor countries (NCCs) are a special group that bring together the UN principle of universality with that of progressivity: All countries are eligible to participate in UNDP programmes, but those with higher levels of income are affected by policies that limit the resources that can be provided by UNDP. The five NCCs within the group of Arab States— Bahrain, Kuwait, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya (Libya), Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE)—are busily adapting to fast-changing internal and external environments. Internally, all five countries have recently experienced rapidly growing economies combined with moves towards greater political openness. At the same time, they have had to adapt to the onward march of globalization and the challenge of finding their role in this new external environment.This shifting context suggests that UNDP’s relationship with these countries also needs to evolve.

The number and diversity of donors contributing to UNDP programmes confirms the confidence of the national government and the international and local community in our role as a partner of choice for sustainable development.

The following graphs show where our funding comes from and how it is spent. Sharing this information is part of UNDP’s commitment to transparency and accountability to our funders, partners, project participants and the public.

To explore more parameters of our funding, please go to open.undp.org.

UNDP Around the world

You are at UNDP Kuwait 
Go to UNDP Global